HP enrolls Independent Radiology providers and issues provider contracts to applicants who meet the licensure and certification requirements of the state of Alabama, the Code of Federal Regulations, the Alabama Medicaid Agency Administrative Code, and the Alabama Medicaid Provider Manual.
Refer to Chapter 2, Becoming a Medicaid Provider, for general enrollment instructions and information. Failure to provide accurate and truthful information or intentional misrepresentation might result in action ranging from denial of application to permanent exclusion.

National Provider Identifier, Type, and Specialty

A provider who contracts with Alabama Medicaid as an independent radiology provider is added to the Medicaid system with the National Provider Identifiers provided at the time application is made. Appropriate provider specialty codes are assigned to enable the provider to submit requests and receive reimbursements for radiology-related claims.


The 10-digit NPI is required when filing a claim.

Independent Radiology providers are assigned a provider type of 29 (Independent Radiology). Valid specialties for Independent Radiology providers include the following:

• Mammography (292)
• Nuclear Medicine (327)
• Physiological Lab (Independent Diagnostic Testing Facility) (570)
• Portable X Ray Equipment (291)
• Radiology (290)